I am not myself these Days by Josh Kilmer-Purcell

I Am Not Myself These Days
↑ Reserve a copy ↑

Some of you may recognize the author’s name — he one half of the Fabulous Beekman Boys!  But before that…well let’s just say Josh had a very different life.  In the mid ’90s he was working in the advertising business by day and by night he was known as Aqua, a 7-foot-tall drag queen who wore a live goldfish in a bowl as part of his costume.  As his night life of clubs and drinking begins to spill over into his day life, he ultimately saw that he had to make a change.  His writing is funny and witty and tells an amazing story that also is quite sad. Worth a read, especially if you’d like to contrast the before and after Josh.

Soul Enchilada by David Macinnis Gill

Soul Enchilada
↑ Reserve a copy ↑

This story had a little bit of everything.  The whole enchilada, if you will.  (Sorry, but I couldn’t resist using that pun!)  This story had drama, action, fantasy, humor, sports, and a love story all wrapped up in one.  Fans of books like Hold Me Closer, Necromancer and Croak will definitely want to check this book out!

Eunice “Bug” Smoot was an 18-year-old girl with lots of problems and little hope of fixing them.  The only thing Bug really had going for her was that her grandfather left her his Cadillac when he died.  At the very least, she could make a decent amount of money working as a pizza delivery girl.  Just when she thought things couldn’t get worse, though, she met Mr. Beals.  What was so bad about him?  Well…  Mr. Beals was a repo agent who specialized in supernatural debts — and he informed Bug that her grandfather had literally used his soul for collateral on the car loan for the Cadillac and then somehow managed to skip town after he died.  If she couldn’t help Mr. Beals find her grandfather and collect his soul, she would lose her car.  Talk about a lose-lose situation.

The Wedding Dress by Rachel Hauck

The Wedding Dress
↑ Reserve a copy ↑

Something just speaks to Charlotte, owner of a bridal boutique, when she finds an old truck at an estate sale.  She buys it even though it is welded shut.  Her fiance, Tim, iss initially upset at her for spending money on it when they are saving for a wedding.

Upon opening the trunk she finds a beautiful hand-stitched wedding gown and some old military dog tags.  Her quest to learn more about this extraordinary dress leads her on a journey that will change her. She learns of the other brides who wore the dress and their stories of love, loss and redemption:  Emily from 1912, Mary Grace from 1939, Hillary from 1968.  Has Charlotte finally found the perfect dress and is Tim her true love ? If you are looking for a delightful, easy read, check it out!

Monument 14 [series] by Emmy Laybourne

Monument 14
↑ Reserve a copy ↑

I think the thing I liked most about this series was just how different it was.  I have been reading a lot of dystopian fiction over the course of the last few years, and much of it seems to be interchangeable.  Sure, the plots involve slightly different situations and the characters and places have different names.  But, though I enjoyed reading/listening to them all, it was pretty telling when my tween son literally asked me, “Didn’t we already listen to this book?”  Although this series could be compared to other apocalyptic stories — like the dead & the gone and No Safety in Numbers — it didn’t feel like a re-run.  The only problem I had with this book was that it seemed all too plausible.  It really creeped me out to read about a series of natural disasters followed by a leak of chemical warfare compounds, with society as we know it falling apart.  Very interesting story… but kinda scary if you’re known as “worst case scenario girl” and actually start worrying about things like this happening in real life.